联邦法律规定,幼儿床要符合幼儿床标准,符合2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》(CPSIA)的要求。

 

在幼儿床经过消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室检测合规以后,幼儿床生产商和进口商必须经由 儿童产品证书证明该幼儿床符合标准和其它要求。这些要求在

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站上有更详细的说明。

 

什么是幼儿床?
 

幼儿床是能够放下全尺寸婴儿床床垫的床,长度至少51 58英寸 (1310 毫米),宽至少27 14英寸(690毫米),旨在提供15个月以下、体重不超过50磅(27.7公斤)的幼儿自由出入。

 

幼儿床标准的目的是什么? 


该标准试图减少:卡在床端结构中,卡在护栏和侧轨之间,卡在床垫支撑系统中。小孩头部或颈部卡住可能导致窒息。该标准还涉及角柱的延伸,这种延伸可能夹住安抚奶嘴的挂绳、带子、项链、或者可能被突出物钩住的孩子身上的衣服。

 

在哪里可以找到幼儿床的标准?
 

该标准发布在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1217。该标准参考并吸纳了美国检测和材料协会标准ASTM F1821-13,其中包含幼儿床所需检测的具体要求和说明。ASTM F1821-13,《幼儿床标准消费者安全规范》可以从ASTM国际标准组织购买。

 

对幼儿床有什么要求? 


该标准对幼儿床的整体完整性和操作有严格的要求,如床垫支撑、护栏和侧轨卡住问题、栏杆/板条卡住问题、部分束缚的开口、以及警告和说明。

 

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对幼儿床有什么其它要求?


幼儿床受到表面涂层、铅和邻苯二甲酸酯含量的限制、第三方检测和认证、登记卡以及追踪标签要求的管制。这些要求在www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站和下面讨论:

 

  • 表面涂层限制:幼儿床不能使用铅含量超过90ppm(0.009%)的油漆。

 

  • 铅含量限制:幼儿床的任何可接触组合零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。

 

  • 苯二甲酸酯含量限制:幼儿床的增塑部件(和可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其他材料制成的部件)不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,全尺寸幼儿床的增塑部件(和由可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其它材料制成的部件)不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯,只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。

 

  • 检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计或者为主要使用对象的产品一样,幼儿床必须由美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室检测是否符合幼儿床的标准和所有其它适用儿童产品安全规则,包括含铅油漆、铅含量和邻苯二甲酸酯含量的限制要求。在检测基础上,幼儿床的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具儿童产品证书,具体说明每一个适用的规则,并说明该产品符合这些规则。

 

  • 产品和外包装标签要求耐用婴幼儿产品,如幼儿床,必须在产品和包装上永久性标明特定的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,耐用婴幼儿产品都要求有额外的产品标识和附在产品上的产品登记卡这个图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体的标识和登记要求。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息?

 

 如果需要更多幼儿床规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

  • 合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov

电话:(301)504-7520。

 

  • 小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。
 

要购买ASTM F1821 - 13文本,请联系ASTM国际标准组织:www.astm.org或致电:(610) 832-9585

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备,内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解,也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that toddler beds comply with the toddler beds standard and with the requirements of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

 

Manufacturers and importers of toddler beds must certify in a Children's Product Certificate that the toddler beds comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the toddler beds have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory. These requirements are reviewed in greater detail at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

 

What is a toddler bed?

A toddler bed is any bed sized to accommodate a full-size crib mattress having minimum dimensions of 51 5⁄8 in. (1310 mm) in length and 27 1⁄4 in. (690 mm) in width and is intended to provide free access and egress to a child not less than 15 months of age and who weighs no more than 50 pounds (27.7 kg).

 

What is the purpose of the toddler beds standard?

The standard attempts to minimize: entrapment in bed end structures, entrapment between the guardrail and side rail, and entrapment in the mattress support system. Entrapment of a child’s head or neck can result in asphyxiation. The standard also addresses corner post extensions, which may catch pacifier cords, ribbons, necklaces, or clothing that a child may be wearing and that may be caught on a projection. 

 

Where can I find the standard for toddler beds?

The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1217. The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F1821-16, which contains the specific requirements and descriptions of the required tests for toddler beds.  ASTM F1821-16, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toddler Beds, can be purchased from ASTM International.

 

What are the requirements for toddler beds?

The standard has stringent requirements for the overall integrity and operation of the toddler beds, such as mattress support, guardrails and side-rails entrapments, spindles/slats entrapment, partially bounded openings, and warnings and instructions.

 

What are the additional requirements for toddler beds required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Toddler beds are subject to surface coating requirements, lead and phthalate content limits, third party testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking label requirements. These requirements are discussed below and atwww.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

 

  • Surface Coating Limit: Toddler beds must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Toddler beds must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of toddler beds must not contain more than 0.1% of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP). Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of full-size toddler beds also must not contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Toddler beds, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by an accredited third party laboratory accepted by the CPSC for compliance with the toddler beds standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules, including the lead paint, lead content, and phthalate content limits. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of toddler beds must issue a Children's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
  • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as toddler beds, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chart summarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet.

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for toddler beds, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

 

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

 

To purchase copies of ASTM F1821-16, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.

 

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance