联邦法律规定,便携式床栏要符合便携式床栏标准 以及2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》的其它要求。
 

在便携式床栏经过美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方 实验室检测合规以后,便携式床栏生产商和进口商必须 经由 儿童产品证书证明便携式床栏符合标准和任何其它 要求。下面讨论这些要求,在

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站上有更详细的讨论。

 

什么是便携式床栏? 

 

便携式床栏是为了安装在成年人床上,防止儿童掉下来 的装置。便携式床栏是准备给可以在没有帮助的情况下 就可以上下床的儿童(通常为2至5岁)使用的。它们的 设计包括一个顶在床垫侧面的竖起来的平板,但是不会伸到 床垫外边(称为“相邻型床栏”),床护栏就在床垫表面的边 角附近(称为“床垫顶床栏”)。
 

还有一些产品不同于传统的、坚固的便携式床栏,因为它们是用非坚固材料制造的,例如泡沫或充气材料。虽然这些泡沫和充气产品在包装或标签不适用“床栏”这个术语,但是产品符合“便携式床栏”的定义,并包含在标准的范围内。
 

便携式床栏标准的目的是什么? 

 

本标准确定了性能要求和标识要求,旨在最大限度减少与使用便携式床栏有关的对儿童的风险。

 

在哪里可以找到便携式床栏的标准? 

 

该标准公布在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1224中。该标准参考并吸纳了美国试验和材料学会标准ASTM F2085-12,其中包含便携式床栏检测的具体要求和说明。ASTM F2085-12,《便携式床栏标准消费者安全规范》可以从ASTM国际标准组织购买。

 

什么是便携式床栏的要求? 

 

该标准包括以下一般和性能要求(在括号内的数字指的是标准的相关部分):
 

  • 危险锋利边缘或尖(5.1)
  • 小零部件(5.2)
  • 暴露的木制零部件光滑、无毛刺(5.3)
  • 油漆中的铅(5.4)
  • 永久性警示标记(5.5)
  • 结构完整性(6.1)
  • 开口(6.2)
  • 封闭的开口(6.3)
  • 撤掉相邻式便携式床栏造成的开口(6.4)
  • 撤掉床垫顶便携式床栏造成的开口(6.5)
  • 撤掉准备在特定的生产商的床上使用的便携式床栏造成的开口(6.6)
  • 突起部分(6.7)
  • 床柱(例如,床头板,床尾板)和便携式床栏末端之间的开口(6.8)

 

便携式床栏和床垫之间绝对不能形成孩子可能摔下去的危险的空隙,必须检测,以确保床栏不会以不安全的方式组装。床栏必须有改进的标签和说明书上的警示。安装组合零部件,例如挂钩和紧固带,必须永久地固定在床栏上。组合零部件上面还必须有一个警告标签。

 

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对便携式床栏有什么其它要求? 

 

便携式床栏受到表面涂层、铅和邻苯二甲酸酯含量、第三方检测和认证、登记卡以及追踪标签要求的管制。这些要求在www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站和下面讨论:

 

  • 表面涂层限制:便携式床栏不能使用铅含量超过90ppm(0.009%)的油漆。
  • 铅含量限制:便携式床栏的任何可接触组合零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。

 

  • 苯二甲酸酯含量限制:便携式床栏的增塑部件(和可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其他材料制成的部件)不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,便携式床栏的增塑部件(和由可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其它材料制成的部件)不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯,只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。

 

  • 检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计或者为主要使用对象的产品一样,便携式床栏必须由美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室检测是否符合便携式床栏的标准和所有其它适用儿童产品安全规则。在检测基础上,便携式床栏的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具儿童产品证书,具体说明每一个适用的规则,并说明该产品符合这些规则。

 

  • 产品和外包装标签要求耐用婴幼儿产品,如便携式床栏,必须在产品和包装上永久性标明特定的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,耐用婴幼儿产品都要求有额外的产品标识和附在产品上的产品登记卡这个图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体的标识和登记要求。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多便携式床栏规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

  • 合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov

电话:(301)504-7520。

 

  • 小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

要购买ASTM F2085 - 12文本,请联系ASTM国际标准组织:www.astm.org或致电:  (610) 832-9585

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备,内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解,也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that portable bed rails comply with the portable bed rails standard and with additional requirements of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

 

Manufacturers and importers of portable bed rails must certify in a Children's Product Certificate that the products comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the portable bed rails have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory.  These requirements are discussed below and in greater detail at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

 

What is a portable bed rail?

A portable bed rail is a device intended to be installed on an adult bed to prevent children from falling out. Portable bed rails are intended for children who can get in and out of bed unassisted (typically from 2 to 5 years of age). They include bed rail designs that have a vertical plane that presses against the side of the mattress but does not extend over it (called ‘‘adjacent type bed rails’’), as well as bed rails that sit near the edge of the sleeping surface of the mattress (called ‘‘mattress-top bed rails’’).

 

There are also products that differ from traditional, rigid portable bed rails because they are constructed of nonrigid materials, such as foam or inflatable materials.  Although these foam and inflatable products do not use the term ‘‘bed rails’’ in their packaging or labeling, the products meet the definition of a “portable bed rail” and are included in the scope of the standard.

 

What is the purpose of the portable bed rail standard?

 This standard sets forth performance requirements and labeling intended to minimize hazards to children associated with the use of  portable bed rails.

 

Where can I find the standard for portable bed rails?

 The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1224.  The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F2085-12, which contains the specific requirements and descriptions of the tests for portable bed rails. ASTM F2085-12, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Portable Bed Rails, can be purchased from ASTM International.

 

What are the requirements for portable bed rails?

The standard contains the following general and performance requirements (the numbers in the parentheses refer to the section of the standard):

  • Hazardous Sharp Edges or Points (5.1)
  • Small Parts (5.2)
  • Exposed Wood Parts Smooth and Free of Splinters (5.3)
  • Lead in Paints (5.4)
  • Permanency of Warning Labels (5.5)
  • Structural Integrity (6.1)
  • Openings (6.2)
  • Enclosed Openings (6.3)
  • Openings Created by Bed Rail Displacement of Adjacent Style Portable Bed Rails (6.4)
  • Openings Created by Displacement of Mattress-Top Portable Bed Rails (6.5)
  • Openings Created by Displacement of Portable Bed Rails Intended for Use on Specific Manufacturers’ Beds (6.6)
  • Protrusions (6.7)
  • Openings Between Bedposts (e.g., Headboard, Footboards) and Ends of Portable Bed Rail (6.8)

 

Portable bed rails must not create a dangerous gap with the mattress into which a child can fall, and they must be tested to make sure the bed rail cannot be assembled in an unsafe manner. Bed rails must have improved warnings on labels and instructions.   Installation components, such as anchors or straps, must be permanently attached to the bed rail. Component parts also must have a warning label affixed to them.

 

What are the additional requirements for portable bed rails required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Portable bed rails are subject to requirements for surface coatings, lead and phthalate content, third party testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking labels.  These requirements are discussed below and atwww.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

 

  • Surface Coating Limit: Portable bed rails must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Portable bed rails must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of portable bed rails must not contain more than 0.1% of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP). Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of portable bed rails also must not contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Portable bed rails, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory for compliance with the portable bed rail standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules.  Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of portable bed rails must issue a Children's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
    • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as portable bed rails, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chartsummarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet.

Where can I find additional information?

 For more information on the requirements for portable bed rails, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

 

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

To purchase copies of ASTM 2085-12, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org, or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.

 

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance