联邦法律规定,手提式婴儿篮要 符合手持婴儿提篮的标准和其它 要求,包括2008年《美国消费品

安全改进法》(CPSIA)的要求。

 

注意:根据《联邦法规》 49 C.F.R. § 571.213,联邦机动车 安全标准(FMVSS) No. 213,可充 当车座的手提式婴儿篮也受美国 >国家公路安全管理局监管。

 

在手提式婴儿篮经过美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方 实验室检测合规以后,手提式婴儿篮的生产商和进口商必 须经由儿童产品证书证明该手提式婴儿篮符合标准和任何 其它要求。下面讨论这些要求,在

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站有更详细的讨论。

 

什么是手提式婴儿篮? 

 

手提式婴儿篮是一个可独自站立、有硬边缘或半硬边缘的产品,用于携带一个孩子,其背部完全由该产品支撑,便于照顾孩子的人通过手持或手柄运送孩子。

 

有两类手提式婴儿篮:手提式婴儿座椅和手提婴儿睡篮/摇篮。前一类常常也是汽车约束系统(儿童车座)。第二类,手提婴儿睡篮/摇篮是为让孩子平躺,协助孩子睡眠而设计的提篮。

 

手提式婴儿篮标准的目的是什么?
 

该标准旨在最大​​限度减少与在机动车外使用手提式婴儿篮有关的死伤风险,特别是与手柄强度和完整性、约束系统使用、提篮翻倒和从高处坠落有关的事故。

 

在哪里可以找到手提式婴儿篮的标准?
 

该标准公布在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1225中。该标准参考并吸纳了美国试验和材料学会标准ASTMF2050-13a ,有一处修订。修订澄清了标准涵盖的有半硬边缘的手提婴儿睡篮/摇篮产品的范围,比如摩西提篮。ASTM F2050-13a,《手提式婴儿篮标准消费者安全规范》详述了手提式婴儿篮的具体要求和所需检测的说明,可以从ASTM国际标准组织购买。

 

对手提式婴儿篮的要求是什么? 

 

美国消费品安全委员会的标准包括手提式婴儿篮的性能要求、一般性能要求、以及标签要求。手提式婴儿篮标准的主要规定包括如下;

 

  • 提手自动锁定-此要求只适用于具有硬的、围绕一个单一轴和锁旋转的可调节提手的产品。规定要求当处于生产商指定的携带位置时,提手必须能自动锁定。 
  • 提手完整性-旨在确保提手在正常或可预见的使用期间不断裂或开锁。
  • 约束系统-旨在确保在手提式婴儿篮座上提供约束系统,以固定处于坐姿的儿童。该规定还禁止手提婴儿睡篮/摇篮有约束功能。
  • 防滑-旨在防止提篮从高处打滑或者摔落。
  • 警告-旨在提醒照看孩子的人在使用手提式婴儿篮时婴儿被勒死、跌落和窒息的危险。

 

美国试验和材料学会(ASTM)标准还包括以下一般性要求:

 

  • 插销和锁机制的要求;
  • 禁止小零部件、尖端和锐利边缘的要求;
  • 木质零部件防止毛刺的要求;
  • 防止剪切、绞切、挤夹的要求;
  • 可接触洞和开口的卡住检测;
  • 可抓住部件的扭力/张力检测;
  • 永久性警示标签的要求;以及
  • 玩具配件符合ASTM F963 玩具安全标准规定的说明文字材料的要求。

 

什么是2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》规定的手提式婴儿篮的附加要求?
 

手提式婴儿篮受到表面涂层、铅和(在某些情况下)邻苯二甲酸酯含量、检测和认证、登记卡、以及追踪标签要求的管控。这些要求在下面和www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站上讨论:

 

  • 表面涂层限制:手提式婴儿篮不得使用铅含量超过90ppm(0.009%)的油漆。

 

  • 铅含量限制:手提式婴儿篮任何可接触的组合零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。
     
  • 邻苯二甲酸酯含量限制:包含增塑零部件,为帮助睡眠设计、推广或使用的手提式婴儿篮,或者带有为帮助婴幼儿进食而设计、推广或使用的增塑零部件不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,婴儿车和婴儿推车的增塑零部件不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯(DnOP),只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。 

 

  • 检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计和作为主要使用者的产品一样,手提式婴儿篮必须经过美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室的检测,确保产品符合手持婴儿提篮标准及所有其它适用的儿童产品安全要求。在检测基础上,手提式婴儿篮的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具一份儿童产品证书,具体说明每一项适用要求,并指明该产品符合这些要求。

 

  • 产品和外包装标签要求耐用婴幼儿产品,如手持婴儿提篮,必须在产品和外包装上永久性标注具体的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,耐用婴幼儿产品须具有额外的产品标识和一张附在产品上的产品登记卡这张图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体标签和登记要求。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多手提式婴儿篮规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

  • 合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov

电话:(301)504-7520。

 

  • 小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

要购买ASTM F2050-13a 文本,请联系ASTM国际标准组织:www.astm.org或致电: 

(610) 832-9585

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that hand-held infant carriers comply with hand-held infant carrier standards and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

 

Note that hand-held infant carriers that function as car seats are also regulated by the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, under 49 C.F.R. § 571.213 Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) No. 213.

 

Manufacturers and importers of hand-held infant carriers must certify in aChildren's Product Certificate that the hand-held infant carriers comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the hand-held infant carriers have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory. These requirements are discussed below and in greater detail at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

 

What is a hand-held infant carrier?

A hand-held infant carrier is a freestanding, rigid or semi-rigid-sided product intended to carry an occupant, whose torso is completely supported by the product, to facilitate transportation by a caregiver by means of hand-holds or handles.

 

There are two categories of hand-held infant carriers: hand-held infant carrier seats and hand-held bassinets/cradles. The former often double as an automotive child restraint system (i.e., car seat). The second category, hand-held bassinets/cradles, are carriers designed for the occupant to lie flat, to facilitate sleeping.

 

What is the purpose of the hand-held infant carrier standard?

The standard seeks to minimize the risk of deaths and injuries associated with the use of hand-held infant carriers outside of a motor vehicle, specifically incidents related to handle strength and integrity, restraint use, carrier tip over, and falls from elevated surfaces.

 

Where can I find the standard for hand-held infant carriers?

The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1225. The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F2050-13a, with one modification. The modification clarifies that the scope of the standard covers hand-held bassinet/cradle products that have semi-rigid sides; for example - Moses baskets. ASTM F2050-13a, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Hand-Held Infant Carriers, details the specific requirements and descriptions of the tests for hand-held infant carriers and can be purchased from ASTM International.

 

What are the requirements for hand-held infant carriers?

The CPSC standard includes performance requirements specific to hand-held infant carriers, general performance requirements, and labeling requirements. The key provisions of the hand-held infant carrier standard include the following:

  • Carry Handle Auto-Locking–this requirement applies only to products having a rigid, adjustable carry handle that rotates about a singular axis and locks. The requirement mandates that the handle must lock automatically when placed into the manufacturer’s designated carry position.
  • Carry Handle Integrity–intended to ensure that the carry handle does not break or unlatch during normal or foreseeable use.
  • Restraint System–intended to ensure that a restraint system is provided on hand-held carrier seats to secure a child in the seated position.  This requirement also prohibits restraints in hand-held bassinets/cradles.
  • Slip Resistance–intended to prevent carriers from slipping or falling from elevated surfaces.
  • Warnings–intended to alert the caregiver to infant strangulation, fall, and suffocation hazards when using hand-held infant carriers.

 

The ASTM standard also includes the following general requirements:

  • requirements for latching and locking mechanisms;
  • requirements to prohibit small parts, sharp points and edges;
  • requirements for wood parts, to prevent splinters;
  • requirements to prevent scissoring, shearing, and pinching;
  • entrapment testing for accessible holes and openings;
  • torque/tension testing for graspable components;
  • a requirement that warning labels be permanent; and
  • requirements for toy accessories to meet ASTM F963 Toy Safety standard requirements for instructional literature.

 

What are the additional requirements for hand-held infant carriers required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Hand-held infant carriers are subject to requirements for surface coatings, lead and (in certain circumstances) phthalate content, testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking labels. These requirements are discussed below and at: www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

  • Surface Coating Limit: Hand-held infant carriers must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Hand-held infant carriers must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Hand-held infant carriers that contain plasticized parts that are designed, marketed, or intended to facilitate sleep  or have plasticized components that are designed, marketed, or intended to facilitate eating, must not contain more than 0.1 percent of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP).  Such hand-held infant carriers also must not contain plasticized parts that contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate (DnOP) while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Hand-held infant carriers, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory for compliance with the hand-held infant carrier standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of hand-held infant carriers must issue aChildren's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
  • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as hand-held infant carriers, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chart summarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet. 

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for hand-held infant carrier carriers, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

To purchase copies of ASTM F2050-13a, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.

 

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance