联邦法律规定,框架式儿童 背包要符合框架式婴儿背包 标准和其它要求,包括2008 年《美国消费品安全改进法》 的要求。在框架式儿童背包经 过美国消费品安全委员会认可 的第三方实验室检测合规后, 框架式儿童背包的生产商和制造商必须经由儿童产品证书 认证该框架式儿童背包符合适用 标准和其它要求。下文和

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation 网站更详尽地讨论这些要求。

 

什么是框架式儿童背包? 

 

框架式儿童背包通常是一种在金属管或者其它框架外缝制的布料结构产品,设计用于照顾孩子的人将孩子直立背在后背上。框架式儿童背包的使用者是可以无需借助辅助就能坐直的儿童,体重为16磅到50磅之间。框架式儿童背包是要背在背部,面朝前或者朝后悬挂在照顾孩子的人的双肩上。这种背包通常用于野外跋涉,与不是供背儿童使用的跋涉/登山背包非常相像。

 

框架式儿童背包标准的目的是什么? 

 

本标准寻求最大限度减少与使用框架式儿童背包相关的死伤,特别是和结构完整性有关的事件,比如带子上质量不佳的缝合、框架上布料布件脱落、螺丝松动、以及框架断裂、框架式儿童背包的稳定性、腿部开口太大使儿童从背包中滑出或几乎滑出,以及对儿童约束不力。
 
在哪里可以找到框架式儿童背包的标准? 

 

该标准发表在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1230中。该标准参考并吸纳了美国检测和材料协会的标准ASTMF2549-14a.,《框架式儿童背包标准消费者安全规范》,详述框架式儿童背包检测的具体要求和说明,可以从ASTM国际标准组织购买。

 

哪些框架式儿童背包必须符合这些要求?什么时候需要符合要求? 

 

该规则将于2016年9月2日生效,并将适用于所有该日期后生产或进口的框架式儿童背包。
 

框架式儿童背包的要求是什么? 

 

美国消费品安全委员会的标准包括框架式儿童背包的特定性能要求、一般性能要求、以及标签要求。ASTM F2549-14a包含主要的要求:

 

  • 禁止小零部件、尖端和锐利边缘;
  • 防止木制部件毛刺;
  • 防止剪切、绞切、挤夹;
  • 防止暴露的螺旋弹簧;
  • 通过对可折叠存放的背包的锁定和插销要求,防止意外折叠;
  • 防止带有折叠支脚,可以自己站立的背包,其折叠支脚意外折叠起来;
  • 强制要求永久性警告标签;
  • 解决可能从腿部开口坠落出去的问题,帮助防止个子较小的儿童从背包的腿部开口坠落出去;
  • 处理动态力量,检测动态条件下的框架、紧固件和接缝/缝合,帮助防止断裂或分离;
  • 检测静态负荷,以确保背包能够承受最大推荐重量三倍的重量;
  • 检测稳定性,帮助防止那些可以自己立起来的背包,在装了孩子正常使用时翻倒;
  • 强制要求具备约束系统的儿童安全系统,并提供检测约束装置的方法;
  • 确保手柄完整性,帮助防止手柄在以推荐的最大力量三倍的力量拉扯时断裂或分离;
  • 强制规定背包符合易燃性要求以及其它要求。

 

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对框架式儿童背包还有什么其它要求? 

 

框架式儿童背包受表面涂层、铅和(在某些情况下)邻苯二甲酸酯含量、检测和认证、登记卡以及追踪标签要求的管制。下文和www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站讨论这些要求:

 

  • 表面涂层限制:框架式儿童背包使用的油漆中铅含量不得超过90ppm(0.009%)。
  • 铅含量限制: 框架式儿童背包的任何可接触零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。
  • 苯二甲酸酯含量限制:含有为帮助睡眠而设计、营销的增塑零部件的框架式儿童背包,或含有为帮助进食而设计、营销的增塑零部件的框架式儿童背包下列邻苯二甲酸酯的含量不得超过0.1%:邻苯二甲酸二(2-甲氧乙基)酯(DMEP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。这类框架式儿童背包的增塑部件还不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯(DnOP),只要一项禁止这些邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令仍然有效就不可以。
  • 检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计和作为主要使用者的产品一样,框架式儿童背包必须经过美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室的检测,确保产品符合框架式儿童背包标准及所有其它适用的儿童产品安全要求。在这个检测的基础上,框架式儿童背包的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具一份儿童产品证书,具体说明每一项适用要求,并指明该产品符合这些要求。
  • 产品和外包装标签要求耐用婴幼儿产品,如框架式儿童背包,必须在产品和外包装上永久性标注具体的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,耐用婴幼儿产品须具有额外的产品标识和一张附在产品上的产品登记卡这张图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体标签和登记要求。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多框架式儿童背包规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

 

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

欲购买ASTM F2549-14a,请登录www.astm.org 或通过电话(610) 832-9585 联络ASTM国际标准组织。

 

 

 本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that frame child carriers comply with the frame child carrier standard and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

 

Manufacturers and importers of frame child carriers must certify in aChildren's Product Certificate that the frame child carriers comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the frame child carriers have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory. These requirements are discussed below and in greater detail at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

 

What is a frame child carrier?

A frame child carrier is typically a product of sewn fabric construction on a tubular metal or other frame, which is designed to carry a child in an upright position on the back of the caregiver. The intended users of frame carriers are children who are able to sit upright unassisted and weigh between 16 pounds and 50 pounds.  Frame carriers are intended to be worn on the back and suspended from both shoulders of the caregiver’s body in a forward- or rear-facing position.  This type of carrier is often used for hiking and closely resembles hiking/mountaineering backpacks not intended to be used for child transport.

 

What is the purpose of the frame child carrier standard?

The standard seeks to minimize the risk of deaths and injuries associated with the use of frame child carriers, specifically incidents related to structural integrity, such as poor quality stitching on straps, detachment of the cloth component from the frame, loose screws, and breakage of the frame,  stability of the frame child carrier, leg holes that are too large and allow a child to slip out or almost slip out of the carrier, and inadequacy of restraints.

 

Where can I find the standard for frame child carriers?

The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1230. The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F2549-14a. ASTM F2549-14a, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Frame Child Carriers, details the specific requirements and descriptions of the tests for frame child carriers and can be purchased from ASTM International.

 

Which frame child carriers must comply with these requirements, and when do they need to comply?

The rule will become effective on September 2, 2016, and will apply to all frame child carriers manufactured or imported on or after that date.

 

What are the requirements for frame child carriers?

The CPSC standard includes performance requirements specific to frame child carriers, general performance requirements, and labeling requirements.  ASTM F2549-14a contains key requirements to:

  • Prohibit small parts, sharp points and edges;
  • Prevent splinters in wood parts;
  • Prevent scissoring, shearing, and pinching;
  • Address exposed coil springs;
  • Prevent unintentional folding through locking and latching requirements for carriers that fold for storage;
  • Prevent unintentional folding of the kick stands for carriers with kick stands that can stand freely;
  • Mandate that warning labels be permanent;
  • Address potential falls from leg openings to help prevent smaller occupants from falling out of the carrier through a single leg opening;
  • Address dynamic strength, which tests the frame, fasteners, and seams/stitching under dynamic conditions to help prevent breakage or separation;
  • Test static load to ensure the carrier can hold three times the maximum recommended weight;
  • Test stability which helps prevent an occupied carrier from tipping over during normal use, for carriers that can stand freely;
  • Mandate retention system with a restraint system and to provides a method for testing the restraints;
  • Ensure handle integrity, which helps prevent the handle from breaking or separating when it is pulled with three times the maximum recommended weight;
  • Mandate the carriers to meet flammability requirements; and other requirements.

What are the additional requirements for frame child carriers required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Frame child carriers are subject to requirements for surface coatings, lead and (in certain circumstances) phthalate content, testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking labels. These requirements are discussed below and at: www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

  • Surface Coating Limit: Frame child carriers must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Frame child carriers must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Frame child carriers that contain plasticized parts that are designed, marketed, or intended to facilitate sleep  or have plasticized components that are designed, marketed, or intended to facilitate eating, must not contain more than 0.1 percent of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP).  Such frame child carriers also must not contain plasticized parts that contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate (DnOP) while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Frame child carriers, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory for compliance with the frame child carrier standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of frame child carriers must issue a Children's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
  • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as frame child carriers, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chart summarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet.

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for frame child carrier carriers, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

To purchase copies of ASTM F2549-14a, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585

 

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance