LOG OF MEETING DIRECTORATE FOR ENGINEERING SCIENCES

<u>SUBJECT:</u> Recreational Off-Highway Vehicles (ROVs) – ROHVA Voluntary Standards Meeting

DATE OF MEETING: October 5, 2015

PLACE OF MEETING: CPSC Hearing Room, Bethesda Towers, Bethesda, MD.

LOG ENTRY SOURCE: Caroleene Paul, ESME

COMMISSION ATTENDEES: See attached attendance list

NON-COMMISSION ATTENDEES: See attached attendance list

SUMMARY OF MEETING:

ROHVA representatives summarized the areas of concern expressed by CPSC staff at the October 23, 2014 public meeting and the proposed requirements for the next revision of ANSI/ROHVA 1 that address those concerns. In summary:

- Lateral stability is addressed by:
 - o a tilt table test minimum requirement of 33 degrees
 - o hang tag that displays the vehicle's tilt table limit
 - o 30 mph J-turn test that prohibits two-wheel at 110 degrees of steer angle
- Vehicle handling is addressed by:
 - Constant steer angle test and performance requirement based on computation of the yaw rate ratio
- Occupant protection is addressed by:
 - Seat belt speed limiter reminder on driver's seat belt that limits speed to
 15 mph if seat belt is not buckled
 - Side retention barriers that must meet a probe test

The constant steer angle test and yaw rate ratio calculation was developed by Polaris Industries, and Polaris representatives presented their analysis of yaw rate ratio data provided by CPSC staff (presentation attached). The following topics were discussed:

- Polaris agrees with CPSC staff's suggested method of slope calculation.
- Based on analysis of vehicle path diameter and measured yaw rate ratios,
 Polaris believes a yaw rate ratio limit of 4.5 in each turn direction will ensure that vehicles do not exhibit divergent instability.
- Polaris recognizes that some vehicles may require adjustments to meet the proposed yaw rate ratio requirement.
- Variability in test measurements will require manufacturers to design to a value below 4.5 to ensure that vehicles pass the proposed requirement.

CPSC staff thanked ROHVA and Polaris for the obvious effort in developing requirements to address staff's concerns. Staff also urged ROHVA and OPEI to ballot their respective proposals in order for staff to provide comments.

MEETING ATTENDANCE RECORD ROHVA – October 5, 2015

COMMISSION ATTENDEES:

Name		Phone	Email
Ann Marie	Buerkle	301-504-7893	abuerkle@cpsc.gov
Bryce	Dustman	301-504-7739	bdustman@cpsc.gov
Robert	Franklin	301-504-7708	rfranklin@cpsc.gov
Sarah	Garland	301-504-7331	sgarland@cpsc.gov
Jay	Howell	301-504-7621	rhowell@cpsc.gov
Mark	Kumagai	301-987-2234	mkumagai@cpsc.gov
Johnathon	Midgett	301-504-7798	imidgett@cpsc.gov
JG	Mullen	301-504-7066	gmullan@cpsc.gov
Норе	Nesteruk	301-987-2579	hnesteruk@cpsc.gov
Joel	Recht	301-987-2036	<u>irecht@cpsc.gov</u>
Caroleene	Paul	301-987-2225	cpaul@cpsc.gov
Anthony	Teems	301-987-2329	ateems@cpsc.gov

MEETING ATTENDANCE RECORD ROHVA – October 5, 2015

NON-COMMISSION ATTENDEES:

NOIN-COIVIIVII	SSION AT TENDEE	٥.	1	
Name		Organization	Phone	Email
Michael	Best	CFA	202-939-1009	mbest@consumerfed.org
Mary	Christopherson	Honda	310-783-3632	mary-christopherson@ahm.hond.com
Annamarie	Daley	B&T	612-367-8749	adaley@btlaw.com
Roy	Deppa	Marchica&Deppa	301-774-5508	roy@marchicadeppa.com
Jeff	Eyres	Polaris	612-542-2309	jeff.eyes@polaris.com
Brad	Franklin	Yamaha	714-761-7842	brad franklin@yamaha-motor.com
Tyler	Furman	Kawasaki	402-476-6600	tfurman@lcn.kmmfg.com
Brian	Gabel	Yamaha	714-761-7798	brian gabel@yamaha-motor.com
Ben	Gross	PSL		
Gary	Heydinger	SEA	614-582-1632	gheydinger@sealimited.com
Erika	Jones	Mayer Brown	202-263-3232	ejones@mayerbrown.com
Greg	Knott	OPEI	703-549-7600	gknott@opei.org
Ed	Krenik	Bracewell&Guliani	202-828-5877	edward.krenik@bgllp.com
Daniel	Leclerc	BRP	450-532-5100	daniel.leclerc@brp.com
Bob	Loehr	John Deere	920-485-5365	LoehrRobertJ@johndeere.com
David	Murray	WFG	202-303-1112	dmurray@willkie.com
Stephen	Oesch			
Erik	Pritchard	ROHVA	939-727-3727	epritchard@rohva.org
Stephen	Propson	John Deere	920-485-5753	PropsonStephenL@johndeere.com
Brandon	Ricketts	Honda	937-309-2243	bricketts@oh.hra.com
Donna	Rudge	Honda	937-309-8591	drudge@oh.hra.com
John	Rupp	Textron	401-457-3674	jrupp@textron.com
Marie-Claude	Simard	BRP	450-532-6195	marie-claude.simard@brp.com
Keith	Steenlage	John Deere	309-781-2996	SteenlageKeithE@johndeere.com
Kyosuke	Tanaka	Yamaha	714-716-7800	tanakaky@ymc.jp.co
Paul	Vitrano	Polaris	202-714-3386	paul.vitrano@polaris.com
Michael	Wiegard	ESCM	202-659-6603	mwiegard@eckertseamans.com