

U.S. CONSUMER PRODUCT SAFETY COMMISSION

4330 EAST WEST HIGHWAY BETHESDA, MARYLAND 20814-4408

Record of Commission Action Commissioners Voting by Ballot*

Commissioners Voting:

Acting Chairman Ann Marie Buerkle

Commissioner Robert S. Adler Commissioner Elliot F. Kaye Commissioner Dana Baiocco Commissioner Peter A. Feldman

ITEM:

Table Saw Update 2019 (Briefing package dated August 28, 2019 OS No. 4041)

DECISION:

The Commission voted (4-1) to take other action as follows: I. Do not approve the NEISS special study or exposure survey; and, II. Direct staff to prepare a Final Rule on a Safety Standard Addressing Blade-Contact Injuries on Table Saws (see attachment). Commissioner Adler, Commissioner Kaye, Commissioner Baiocco and Commissioner Feldman voted to take other action as stated above. Acting Chairman Buerkle voted to adopt CPSC staff recommendation.

For the Commission:

Alberta E. Mills

Secretary

*Ballot vote due September 10, 2019 (Commissioner Feldman extended the vote due date from September 5, 2019)

Attachment:

Commission approved action

Take Other Action:

- I.
- Do not approve the NEISS special study or exposure survey; and Direct staff to prepare a Final Rule on a Safety Standard Addressing Blade-Contact II. Injuries on Table Saws