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MEETING NOTES:

The following meeting summary and attachments were provided by Laura Morgan-Kessler

following the meeting.

e Supervisor Sackett provided an overview of how Marin County began its interest around
the topics of safety of e-bikes and how these bikes are marketed to children and teens.

e The County has seen an increase in severe injuries in teens as a result of e-bike accidents.

e The County is beginning to more closely track data associated with these accidents to
better discuss possible solutions to reduce these significant injuries.

e Supervisor Sackett discussed the following issues that the County believes is attributing
to the safety issues surrounding e-bikes and young rides: teens riding these bikes tandem
as a result of the larger seat size, riders not wearing helmets, the ability to easily modify
the bikes to greatly increase the speed, and the lack of proper and timely services of the

bikes by the owners.




& Assemblymember Damon Connolly, 12" District
& AB 1778 — E-BIKE SAFETY AND REGULATIONS
FACT SHEET
BACKGROUND

To ride or drive a vehicle with a motor in California, the
rider must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid
driver’s license. The only exceptions are three classes of
electric bicycles. The difference among the three classes is
whether they have a throttle. Classes 1 and 3 are “pedal-
assisted” electric bicycles, meaning they must be pedaled
manually, similar to a traditional bicycle, to propel
forward. Class 2 is for “low speed throttled-assisted”
electric bicycles. Persons operating electric bicycles are
not subject to the provisions of the Vehicle code relating to
financial responsibility, driver’s licenses, registration, and
license plate requirements.

To qualify as a Class 2 e-bike, a throttle bicycle must have
a motor less than 750 watts that is “not capable” of
providing assistance when the bike reaches 20 mph. If the
motor is capable of assisting when the bike is going faster
than 20 mph, it does not qualify as a Class 2 e-bike.
Vehicles with throttles and top speeds of more than 20
MPH are not “E-Bikes” under California law. They are
“Motorcycles” or “Motor Vehicles.” Riders must be 16 and
have a driver’s license.

Manufacturers and distributors of all three classes of bikes
must “permanently affix in a prominent location” a label
with the “classification number, top assisted speed, and
motor wattage of the electric bicycle” VC § 312.5(c). It is
illegal for anyone to “tamper with or modify” an electric
bicycle “so as to change the speed capability of the bicycle,
unless he or she appropriately replaces” the label VC §
24016(d). E-bike riders and passengers under 18 are
subject to the same helmet requirement as other bicycle
riders and passengers. All of them must wear “a properly
fitted and fastened bicycle helmet” that meets government
standards VC § 21213(b).

ISSUE

New data from the Marin County Health Department
shows that from October 10th to November 10th of 2023,
the rate of e-bike-related accidents for youth was nine
times higher than similar accidents of people over 20 years
old. The report also showed that 22 percent of all 911 calls
in the same period were for e-bike-related accidents and 71
percent of responses for all bike accidents among 10- to
19-year-olds were e-bike-related.

Since starting to collect specific data in October, Marin
County public health and EMS officials have found that 3
out of every 4 bicycle accidents among school aged
children were e-bike related. Physicians have reported that
these injuries are not just scraped knees and bruised
elbows, but rather, the kinds of injuries you would expect
to see in accidents involving higher-speed vehicles, such as
internal bleeding, pelvic fractures, damage to vital organs,
and brain trauma.

EXISTING LAW

Existing law defines an electric bicycle and classifies
electric bicycles into 3 classes with different restrictions.
Under existing law, a “class 2 electric bicycle” is a bicycle
equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to
propel the bicycle, and that is not capable of providing
assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles
per hour.

Under existing law, a “class 3 electric bicycle” is a bicycle
equipped with a speedometer and a motor that provides
assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases
to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of
28 miles per hour. Existing law prohibits a person under 16
years of age from operating a class 3 electric bicycle.
Existing law requires a person operating, or riding upon, a
class 3 electric bicycle to wear a helmet

THIS BILL

AB 1778 would prohibit individuals under the age of 16
from operating Class 2 electric bicycles. Class 2 e-bikes are
operated with a throttle, and are not pedal assisted. While
regulated to go no more than 20 miles per hour, too often
they are being used at higher speeds with modifications.
This legislation targets Class 2 due to the increased risk.
They can reach maximum speed much faster than classl e-
bikes, and are more difficult to stop. Setting an age limit
will significantly reduce accidents and help ensure our
streets remain safe for everyone.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

McKenna Woodward
P: (916) 319-2012
McKenna.Woodward@asm.ca.gov
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AB XXX Fact Sheet


https://www.marinhhs.org/bicycle-safety
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E-Bike Safety and Regulations for Youth

MARIN COUNTY EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES DATA SHOWS
E-BIKE ACCIDENTS FOR CHILDREN 9X HIGHER THAN FOR ADULTS

E-bike accident data

From 2019 to 2022, the number of 911
responses in Marin related to all bicycle
accidents rose 110% among school-aged
youth. Pediatricians and emergency room
physicians were also alarmed by the
increasing severity of the trauma injuries.

In response, in October 2023 the County’s
Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
authorities began distinguishing 911
responses to e-bike accidents, versus
conventional bicycles. In the first few
months of collecting this data, Marin
responders saw that:

e 22% of all 911 bicycle accidents were
related to e-bikes. This figure was 71%
for school-aged children.

o Rate of e-bike accidents for 10 to 19
year olds was 9x higher than the rate
of accidents for those older than 20.

Classes of e-bikes

Class 1: Pedal-assisted, can go up to
20mph. Operable for all ages, helmet not
required not for riders over 18.

Class 2: Throttle-operated, can go up to
20mph. Currently operable for all ages,
helmet not required not for riders over 18.

Class 3: Pedal-assisted, can go up to
28mph. Existing law requires riders to be
over 16, and all riders to wear a helmet.

In December 2023, Marin Health and
Human Services issued a Public Health
Advisory and public Press Release on e-
bikes about the importance of helmet use,
following the rules of the road, and
encouraging choosing Class 1 e-bikes for
children and youth.

CA regulations for Class 2

California Assemblymember Damon
Connolly and Marin County Supervisor
Mary Sackett also proposed Assembly Bill
1778 this year, which would set a 16-year
old age limit for operating Class 2 e-bikes in
California, and require all ages to wear a

helmet. Essentially, regulating Class 2 e-
bikes as Class 3 e-bikes already are.

Class 1 e-bikes, which are pedal-assisted
and do not have a motor — would remain
operable for youth under 16.

Role for federal regulators

AB 1778 would be a critical step in
improving safety for children and youth in
California, and would follow state legislation
in recent years that has regulated Class 3
e-bikes.

However, we urge the Consumer Product
Safety Commission to look at implementing
needed regulations on a national level.
Some electric motorcycles are falsely
advertised online as Class 2 e-bikes, when
they actually exceed the 20mph and
wattage limits. Additionally, turning kits —
which remain legal to purchase — can
increase the speed of a Class 2 throttle bike
well-beyond 20mph.

Most concerning, companies continue to
advertise their e-bikes directly to very young
children and youth, even though the
Consumer Product Safety Commission
“does not recommended” them for riders
under 16 years old.
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KID'S 16" LIL' WHIP
EBIKE

A “kids” e-bike manufacturer.

STACYC 12eDRIVE Electric Balance Bike for
Kids Ages 3-5 Years Old
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A Class 2 e-bike marketed fo “Kids Ages 3-5
Years Old”.
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