冠状病毒疾病(新冠病毒肺炎)相关产品企业指南

本指南分为四大门类:面罩、防护服、手套以及消毒和清洁产品。

请注意:儿童产品是指主要为12岁或以下儿童设计或供其使用的产品。 

用于在美国销售或提供用于在美国销售的消费品的所有制造商、进口商、经销商和零售商,对确保其产品符合所有强制性规定负有最终责任。 

 

面罩

面罩有很多类型,其中包括用于消费者使用、医疗用途和工业用途的面罩。每种面罩都要满足联邦政府对其适用的独特规定。以下是其中几类面罩的相关信息:

  • 消费者口罩(设计或尺寸不适合12岁及以下儿童) 

此类口罩属于美国消费品安全委员会(CPSC)管辖的穿戴服装类物品。消费者口罩必须符合《易燃织物法》对易燃性的规定。消费者口罩根据其使用的材料,必须经过以下检测:16 CFR part 1610(《服装纺织品易燃性标准》)或16 CFR part 1611(《乙烯基塑料薄膜易燃性标准》)。一般来说,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商必须出具一份普通合规证书(GCC),证明产品符合所有适用规定。

请注意完全由腈纶、改性腈纶、尼龙、烯烃、聚酯、羊毛或上述材料组合制成的消费者口罩,或完全由重量至少为每平方码2.6盎司(或每平方米88.2克)的平纹织物制成的消费者口罩,可根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测。此外,根据2016年3月25日起生效的委员会执法裁量权,对于可根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测的成年人穿戴服装,消费品安全委员会将不再要求其满足普通合规证书规定。 

  • 儿童消费者口罩(设计或尺寸适合12岁及以下儿童)

此类口罩属于消费品安全委员会管辖的穿戴服装类物品,并且必须符合上文中消费者口罩(设计或尺寸不适合12岁及以下儿童)部分所述的16 CFR part 161016 CFR part 1611易燃性检测规定。但是,此类口罩还需要符合《消费品安全法》(CPSA)对标签、检测和认证的规定。

所有儿童产品,包括儿童口罩,都必须标明永久性追踪信息,满足总铅含量限制,并满足涂料/类似表面涂层铅含量限制(如果产品有涂料或表面涂层)。检测必须在消费品安全委员会认可的检测实验室进行,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商还必须出具一份儿童产品证书

请注意完全由腈纶、改性腈纶、尼龙、烯烃、聚酯、羊毛或上述材料组合制成的儿童消费者口罩,或完全由重量至少为每平方码2.6盎司(或每平方米88.2克)的平纹织物制成的消费者口罩,可根据16 CFR §1500.91(d)(7)免于总铅含量检测并根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测。 

此外,由16 CFR §1500.91(d)(7)(i)中的天然或人造纤维制成的儿童消费者口罩不要求总铅含量检测;但仍要求进行易燃性检测,除非织物符合16 CFR §1610.1(d)免检规定。

 

  • 医用口罩(外科口罩和/或N95呼吸器)

旨在用于疾病或其他健康问题诊断,或治愈、缓解、治疗或预防疾病的口罩(如外科口罩)属于“医疗设备”,受美国食品药品管理局(FDA)管辖。请查阅已发布的食品药品管理局指南以获取更多信息。关于此类物品的更多问题,请联系:1-888-INFO-FDA,或CDRH-COVID19-SurgicalMasks@fda.hhs.gov

一次性和可重复使用的N95/P100和其他呼吸器属于个人防护装备,由美国疾控中心(CDC)下属的国家职业安全卫生研究所(NIOSH)监管。更多信息请查阅NIOSH网站:https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/ppe/。 

 

  • 防护面屏

旨在用于疾病或其他健康问题诊断,或治愈、缓解、治疗或预防疾病的防护面屏(如防止传染病传播,包括新冠病毒肺炎相关使用)属于"医疗设备",受食品和药品管理局管辖。请查阅已发布的食品和药品管理局指南以获取更多信息。 

其他在市场上销售的非医用防护面屏(如防晒服)须符合消费品安全委员会对普通穿戴服装和《消费品安全法》的规定(如果设计或尺寸适合12岁及以下儿童)。请参见上文:消费者口罩儿童消费者口罩,分别了解这些规定的更多信息。

 

  • 工业口罩 

专门为商业目的制造的、旨在保护佩戴者免受化学或物理危害的口罩(如焊接头罩),不属于消费品安全委员会管辖范围。对于此类产品,可能存在美国国家职业安全卫生研究所(NIOSH)的建议或职业安全与健康管理局(OSHA)的规定。更多信息请查阅职业安全卫生研究所网站:https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/ppe/。 

防护服

就像面罩一样,防护服也有很多不同类型,包括非医用防护服和医用防护服。以下是几类防护服的相关信息:

  • 非医用防护服(设计或尺寸不适合12岁及以下儿童) 

此类防护服属于消费品安全委员会管辖的穿戴服装类物品。根据其使用的材料,产品必须符合16 CFR part 1610(《服装纺织品易燃性标准》)或16 CFR part 1611(《乙烯基塑料薄膜易燃性标准》)。一般来说,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商必须出具一份普通合规证书(GCC),证明产品符合所有适用规定。

 

请注意完全由腈纶、改性腈纶、尼龙、烯烃、聚酯、羊毛或上述材料组合制成的非医用防护服,或完全由重量至少为每平方码2.6盎司(或每平方米88.2克)的平纹织物制成的非医用防护服,可根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测。此外,根据2016年3月25日起生效的委员会执法裁量权,对于可根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测的成年人穿戴服装,消费品安全委员会将不再要求其满足普通合规证书规定。 

 

  • 一次性防护服(设计或尺寸不适合12岁及以下儿童) 

此类防护服属于消费品安全委员会管辖的穿戴服装类物品。根据其使用的材料,产品必须符合16 CFR part 1610(《服装纺织品易燃性标准》)或16 CFR part 1611(《乙烯基塑料薄膜易燃性标准》)。一般来说,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商必须出具一份普通合规证书(GCC),证明产品符合所有适用规定。

16 CFR §1610.35(a)规定,不需要水洗或干洗的一次性防护服,在接受易燃性检测前不要求进行清洗。 

  • 儿童一次性防护服(尺寸适合儿童,从新生儿至14码)

尺寸为新生儿到9个月的一次性儿童防护服必须遵守16 CFR part 1610(《服装纺织品易燃性标准》)。 

请注意完全由腈纶、改性腈纶、尼龙、烯烃、聚酯、羊毛或上述材料组合制成的尺寸为新生儿到9个月的一次性儿童防护服,或完全由重量至少为每平方码2.6盎司(或每平方米88.2克)的平纹织物制成的尺寸为新生儿到9个月的一次性儿童防护服,可根据16 CFR §1610.1(d)免于易燃性检测。

尺寸为9-14个月的一次性儿童防护服必须符合儿童睡衣的易燃性规定,即:16 CFR part 1615(0至6X码)或16 CFR part 1616(7至14码)。16 CFR §1615.4(g)(4)(i)和16 CFR §1616.5(c)(4)(i)规定,不需要水洗或干洗的一次性防护服,在接受睡衣易燃性检测前不要求进行清洗。 

所有儿童一次性防护服必须符合《消费品安全法》对标签、检测和认证的规定。因此,此类产品必须包含永久性追踪信息,满足总铅含量限制,并满足涂料/类似表面涂层铅含量限制(如果产品有涂料或表面涂层)。对此类产品的任何适用检测都必须在CPSC认可的检测实验室进行,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商还必须出具一份儿童产品证书。 

请注意完全由纸(或类似材料)或由16 CFR §1500.91(d)中的人造或天然纤维制成的一次性儿童防护服,免于进行总铅含量检测。 

  • 医用防护服 

旨在用于医疗场景的防护服,包括外科防护服、隔离防护服、外科隔离防护服、非外科防护服、程序防护服和手术室防护服,都属于美国食品药品管理局的管辖范围。请查阅已发布的食品药品管理局医用防护服指南以获取更多信息。关于此类物品的更多问题,请联系:1-888-INFO-FDA或CDRH-COVID19-PPE@fda.hhs.gov

 

手套

手套有很多不同类型,包括非医用手套和医用手套。以下是其中几类手套的相关信息:

  • 非医用手套 

设计或尺寸不适合12岁及以下儿童的非医用手套属于消费品安全委员会管辖的穿戴服装类物品,必须符合《易燃织物法》对易燃性的规定。 

请注意:长度小于或等于14英寸并且不是另一件衣服的附着部分或组成部分的手套,可根据16 CFR §1610.1(c)(2)的明确规定,免于易燃性检测。 

儿童非医用手套还必须符合《消费品安全法》对标签、检测和认证的规定。因此,此类产品必须包含永久性追踪信息,满足总铅含量限制,并满足涂料/类似表面涂层铅含量限制(如果产品有涂料或表面涂层)。检测必须在消费品安全委员会认可的检测实验室进行,此类产品的国内制造商和美国进口商还必须出具一份儿童产品证书。 

请注意:长度小于等于14英寸并且不是另一件衣服的附着部分或组成部分的儿童非医用手套,可根据16 CFR §1610.1(c)(2)的明确规定,免于易燃性检测。此外,完全由16 CFR §1500.91(d)中的人造或天然纤维制成的儿童非医用手套,免于进行总铅含量检测。 

 

  • 医用手套

旨在用于疾病或其他问题诊断,或治愈、缓解、治疗或预防疾病的手套属于“医疗设备”,受美国食品药品管理局管辖。请查阅已发布的食品药品管理局指南以获取更多信息。关于此类物品的更多问题,请联系:1-888-INFO-FDA,或CDRH-COVID19-PPE@fda.hhs.gov。 

此外,食品药品管理局已禁止使用有粉外科医生手套、有粉患者检查手套,并禁止将可吸收粉用于润滑外科医生手套,因为这些产品构成不合理、实质性的疾病或伤害风险,而这种风险无法通过标签或改变标签来纠正或消除。

 

消毒和清洁产品 

消毒和清洁产品由不同的联邦政府机构监管,取决于产品的成分和预期用途。以下一项或多项法规可能适用于您的产品。 

此外,《防毒包装法》规定,含有16 CFR §1700.14中所列物质的某些家用产品要采用特殊的包装,以保护儿童不因触碰、使用或摄入这些物质而造成严重伤害或严重疾病。www.cpsc.gov/PPPA

 

  • 消费者清洁液 

如果家用清洁液属于《联邦危险物质法》(FHSA)规定的危险物质,则受消费品安全委员会管辖。符合下列条件的产品属于危险物质:(1) 该物质或物质混合物在惯常的或可合理预见的处理或使用过程中,包括在可合理预见的儿童摄取过程中,可能造成严重人身伤害或严重疾病;并且 (2) 该物质或物质混合物具有毒性、腐蚀性、刺激性、强致敏性、易燃性或可燃性,或在分解、受热或其他情况下产生压力。

《联邦危险物质法》第2(p)(1)条,即15 U.S.C.§1261(p)(1),规定危险物质的标签上要标明某些警示性声明——参见16 CFR §1500.121的标签规定。有关《联邦危险物质法》的更多信息,请查阅我们的网站:www.cpsc.gov/FHSA

  • 肥皂 

主要由脂肪和碱制成的、为消费者使用而生产的普通肥皂属于真正的肥皂(不是化妆品或药品),受消费品安全委员会管辖。委员会对此类普通肥皂没有具体的标签规定。

但是,此类产品仍需遵守《联邦危险物质法》适用于危险物质的一般警示标签规定。符合下列条件的产品被认定为危险物质:(1) 该物质或物质混合物在惯常的或可合理预见的处理或使用过程中,包括在可合理预见的儿童摄取过程中,可能造成严重人身伤害或严重疾病;并且 (2) 该物质或物质混合物具有毒性、腐蚀性、刺激性、强致敏性、易燃性或可燃性,或在分解、受热或其他情况下产生压力。

旨在用于保湿、增加皮肤香味或为使用者除体臭等目的的肥皂,属于食品药品管理局管辖的“化妆品”。旨在治疗或预防疾病(如通过灭菌治病防病)或治疗皮肤问题(如痤疮或湿疹)的肥皂,属于食品药品管理局管辖的“药品”。更多信息,请查阅食品药品管理局网页:化妆品、药品还是药妆(或肥皂?)

 

  • 洗手液 

用于减少手部感染原的液体、凝胶或泡沫洗手液属于食品药品管理局管辖的“药品”。请查阅已发布的食品药品管理局指南以获取更多信息。关于此类物品的更多问题,请联系:1-888-INFO-FDA,或发送电子邮件至COVID-19-Hand-Sanitizers@fda.hhs.gov。食品药品管理局已就含甲醇的洗手液发布警告(和召回),并且发布了关于在大流行病期间临时制备酒精类洗手液产品的行业指南。

  • 抗菌产品/消毒剂 

根据《有毒物质控制法》(TSCA),此类产品由美国环境保护局(EPA)监管。《有毒物质控制法》规定,环境保护局要求满足报告、记录保存和检测的相关规定,并对某些化学物质和/或混合物(包括某些消毒剂)实施限制。更多信息,请查阅环境保护局网站:https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/selected-epa-registered-disinfectants。此外,对包括消毒剂在内的杀虫剂,环境保护局还有儿童安全防护规定。更多信息,请访问:https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/child-resistant-packaging-pesticides

  • 商业清洁产品 

如果此类产品仅用于商业用途,或专门出售给商业实体,则必须满足美国职业安全卫生管理局(OSHA)的规定。职业安全卫生管理局要求化学品制造商和进口商根据《危害通报标准》在其产品上提供专门的标签。有关这些职业安全卫生管理局规定的更多信息,请直接致电职业安全卫生管理局(800) 321-6742,或访问网站https://www.osha.gov/dsg/hazcom

  • 紫外消毒设备

紫外消毒医疗设备利用紫外线的杀菌作用对表面进行消毒,并且在医疗环境中在人工清洁后对表面进行进一步消毒,属于美国食品药品管理局管辖的“医疗设备”。请查阅已发布的食品药品管理局指南以获取更多信息。如对此类产品有疑问,请直接联系食品药品管理局:1-888-INFO-FDA,或CDRH-COVID19-SterilizersDisinfectantsPurifiers@fda.hhs.gov

在哪里可以找到更多信息?

有关美国消费品安全委员会(CPSC)规定的更多信息:

  • 访问我们的法规机器人网页,该网页旨在指导您了解委员会的产品安全规定。
  • 联系我们的合规办公室(具体的执法咨询):电子邮件:section15@cpsc.gov,电话: (800) 638-2772。
  • 咨询我们的小企业监察员(关于了解和遵守委员会法规的一般协助):请使用我们的联系表格,发送电子邮件:sbo@cpsc.gov,或致电:(888) 531-9070。

This guidance is divided into four (4) main categories: face coverings, gowns, gloves, and disinfectant and cleaning products.

Please Note: Children's products are those that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger. 

All manufacturers, importers, distributors, and retailers of consumer products intended or offered for sale in the United States are ultimately responsible for ensuring their products meet all mandatory requirements. 
 

FACE COVERINGS

There are many types of face coverings, including face coverings intended for consumer applications, medical, and industrial use, each with their own unique federal requirements. We have included information on several of these face coverings below:

Consumer face masks (not designed or sized for children ages 12 and under) 
These face masks are considered articles of wearing apparel under the jurisdiction of the CPSC.  Consumer face masks must comply with the flammability requirements of the Flammable Fabrics Act.  Consumer face masks must be tested to either 16 CFR part 1610 (Standard for the Flammability of Clothing Textiles) or 16 CFR part 1611 (Standard for the Flammability of Vinyl Plastic Film), depending upon the material used in construction. In general, domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these products must issue a General Certificate of Conformity (GCC), certifying that the products meet all applicable requirements.

Please note: Consumer face masks made entirely of acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, olefin, polyester, wool, or any combination of these fabrics, or made entirely of plain-surface fabric weighing at least 2.6 ounces per square yard (or 88.2 grams per square meter), are exempted from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).  Additionally, under Commission enforcement discretion effective March 25, 2016, the CPSC will not pursue compliance with the GCC requirement for adult wearing apparel that is exempt from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).  

 

Children’s consumer face masks (designed or sized for children ages 12 and under)
These face masks are considered articles of wearing apparel under the jurisdiction of the CPSC, and must meet the flammability testing requirements of 16 CFR part 1610 or 16 CFR part 1611, as outlined above in Consumer face masks (not designed or sized for children ages 12 and under). However, these masks would also need to comply with the labeling, testing, and certification requirements of the Consumer Product Safety Act (CPSA).  

All children’s products, including children’s face masks, must bear permanent tracking information, meet total lead content limits, and meet lead in paint/similar surface coating limits, if either paint or a surface coating is present on the product.  Testing must be conducted at a CPSC-Accepted Testing Lab, and domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these product must also issue a Children’s Product Certificate.

Please note: Children’s consumer face masks made entirely of acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, olefin, polyester, wool, or any combination of these fabrics, or made entirely of plain-surface fabric weighing at least 2.6 ounces per square yard (or 88.2 grams per square meter), are exempted from both total lead content testing under 16 CFR §1500.91(d)(7) and flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).  

Additionally, children’s consumer face masks made of the natural or manufactured fibers listed in 16 CFR §1500.91(d)(7)(i), would not require total lead content testing; however, flammability testing would still be required, unless the fabrics meet the testing exemptions of 16 CFR §1610.1(d).

 

Medical face masks (surgical masks and/or N95 respirators)
Face masks that are intended for use in the diagnosis of disease or other health-related conditions, or in the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease (such as surgical masks) are “medical devices” that fall under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please see issued FDA guidance for additional information.  For further questions on these items, please contact: 1-888-INFO-FDA, or CDRH-COVID19-SurgicalMasks@fda.hhs.gov.

N95/P100 and other respirators, in both disposable and reusable form, are personal protective equipment regulated by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), under the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). See NIOSH’s website for more information: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/ppe/


 

 

Face shields 
Face shields that are intended for use in the diagnosis of disease or other health-related conditions, or in the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease, such as prevention of infectious disease transmission (including uses related to COVID-19), are considered “medical devices” under the jurisdiction of the FDA.  Please see issued FDA guidance for more information. 

Other face shields marketed for non-medical use (e.g., sun-protective clothing) are subject to CPSC requirements for general wearing apparel and the CPSA (if designed or sized for children ages 12 and under).  Please see above: Consumer Face Masks or Children’s Consumer Face Masks, respectively, for more information on these requirements.


Industrial face masks 
Face masks (e.g., such as welding hoods), exclusively manufactured for commercial purposes and that are meant to protect the wearer from chemical or physical hazards, fall outside the jurisdiction of the CPSC. These products may have recommendations from NIOSH or requirements from the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA). Please see NIOSH’s website for more information: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/ppe/
 

GOWNS

Just like face coverings, there are many different types of gowns, including gowns used for non-medical and medical applications.  We have included information on a variety of gown types below:

Non-medical gowns (not designed or sized for children ages 12 and under) 
These gowns are considered articles of wearing apparel under the jurisdiction of the CPSC and must comply with 16 CFR part 1610 (Standard for the Flammability of Clothing Textiles) or 16 CFR part 1611 (Standard for the Flammability of Vinyl Plastic Film), depending on the materials used in construction.  In general, domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these products must issue a General Certificate of Conformity (GCC), certifying that the products meet all applicable requirements.

Please note: Non-medical gowns made entirely of acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, olefin, polyester, wool, or any combination of these fabrics, or made entirely of plain-surface fabric weighing at least 2.6 ounces per square yard (or 88.2 grams per square meter), are exempted from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).  Additionally, under Commission enforcement discretion effective March 25, 2016, the CPSC will not pursue compliance with the GCC requirement for adult wearing apparel that is exempt from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).  

Disposable gowns (not designed or sized for children ages 12 and under)  
These gowns are considered articles of wearing apparel under the jurisdiction of the CPSC and must comply with 16 CFR part 1610 (Standard for the Flammability of Clothing Textiles) or 16 CFR part 1611 (Standard for the Flammability of Vinyl Plastic Film), depending on the materials used in construction.  In general, domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these products must issue a General Certificate of Conformity (GCC), certifying that the products meet all applicable requirements.

Under 16 CFR §1610.35(a), disposable gowns not meant to be washed or dry cleaned do not require laundering before being subjected to flammability testing. 
 

Children’s disposable gowns (sized for children from newborn to size 14)
Disposable children’s gowns sized from newborn up to 9 months must comply with 16 CFR part 1610 (Standard for the Flammability of Clothing Textiles). 

Please note: Disposable children’s gowns sized newborn up to 9 months, made entirely of acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, olefin, polyester, wool, or any combination of these fabrics, or made entirely of plain-surface fabric weighing at least 2.6 ounces per square yard (or 88.2 grams per square meter), are exempted from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(d).

Disposable children’s gowns sized 9-14 months, must comply with the flammability requirements for children’s sleepwear of 16 CFR part 1615 (for size 0 to 6X) or 16 CFR part 1616 (for sizes 7 to 14). Under 16 CFR §1615.4(g)(4)(i) and 16 CFR §1616.5(c)(4)(i), disposable gowns not meant to be washed or dry cleaned do not require laundering before being subjected to sleepwear flammability testing. 

All children’s disposable gowns must comply with the labeling, testing, and certification requirements of the CPSA.  As such, these products must contain permanent tracking information, meet total lead content limits, and meet lead in paint/similar surface coating limits, if either paint or a surface coating is present on the product.  Any applicable testing on these products must be conducted at a CPSC-Accepted Testing Lab, and domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these products must also issue a Children’s Product Certificate

Please note: Disposable children’s gowns made entirely of paper (or similar materials), or made of the manufactured or natural fibers listed in 16 CFR §1500.91(d), are exempted from total lead content testing.  

 


Medical Gowns 
Gowns intended for use in health care settings, including surgical gowns, isolation gowns, surgical isolation gowns, nonsurgical gowns, procedural gowns, and operating room gowns, are all under the jurisdiction of the FDA. Please see issued FDA guidance on Medical Gowns for additional information.  For further questions on these items, please contact: 1-888-INFO-FDA or CDRH-COVID19-PPE@fda.hhs.gov.

 

GLOVES

There are many different types of gloves, including non-medical and medical gloves.  We have included information on several types of these gloves below: 

Non-medical gloves 
Non-medical gloves not designed or sized for children ages 12 and under are articles of wearing apparel regulated by the CPSC that must comply with the flammability requirements of the Flammable Fabrics Act.   

Please note: Gloves that are 14 inches in length or shorter, and not affixed to or not an integral part of another garment, are specifically exempt from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(c)(2).   

Children’s non-medical gloves must also comply with the labeling, testing, and certification requirements of the CPSA.  As such, these products must contain permanent tracking information, meet total lead content limits, and meet lead in paint/similar surface coating limits, if either paint or a surface coating is present on the product.  Testing must be conducted at a CPSC-Accepted Testing Lab, and domestic manufacturers and U.S. importers of these products must also issue a Children’s Product Certificate

Please note: Children’s non-medical gloves that are 14 inches in length or shorter, and not affixed to or not an integral part of another garment, are specifically exempt from flammability testing under 16 CFR §1610.1(c)(2).  Additionally, children’s non-medical gloves made entirely of the manufactured or natural fibers listed in 16 CFR §1500.91(d) are exempted from total lead content testing.  

Medical Gloves
Gloves intended for use in the diagnosis of disease or other conditions, or in the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease are “medical devices” under the jurisdiction of the FDA. Please see issued FDA guidance for additional information.  For further questions on these items, please contact: 1-888-INFO-FDA, or CDRH-COVID19-PPE@fda.hhs.gov

Additionally, the FDA has banned powdered surgeon’s gloves, powdered patient examination gloves, and absorbable powder for lubricating a surgeon’s gloves because these products present an unreasonable and substantial risk of illness or injury that cannot be corrected or eliminated by labeling or a change in labeling. 
 

DISINFECTANT AND CLEANING PRODUCTS 

Disinfectant and cleaning products are regulated by various federal agencies, depending upon the product’s ingredients and intended use.  One or more of the regulations below could apply to your product.  

In addition, the Poison Prevention Packaging Act (PPPA) requires certain household products containing any of the substances listed in 16 CFR §1700.14  to have special packaging to protect children from serious injury or illness from handling, using, or ingesting such substances.  www.cpsc.gov/PPPA


Consumer Cleaning Solutions 
Household cleaning solutions fall under the jurisdiction of the CPSC if they are a hazardous substance under the Federal Hazardous Substances Act (FHSA).  A product is a hazardous substance if: (1) the substance or mixture of substances may cause substantial personal injury or substantial illness during customary or reasonably foreseeable handling or use, including reasonably foreseeable ingestion by children; and (2) the substance or a mixture of substances is toxic, corrosive, an irritant, a strong sensitizer, is flammable or combustible, or generates pressure through decomposition, heat or other means.  

Section 2(p)(1) of the FHSA, 15 U.S.C. §1261(p)(1), requires that hazardous substances bear certain cautionary statements on their labels – see 16 CFR §1500.121 for the labeling requirements. For more information on the FHSA, see our website: www.cpsc.gov/FHSA.

 


Soaps 
Ordinary soaps, made primarily of fats and alkalis, and that are manufactured for consumer use, are true soaps (not cosmetics or drugs), and fall under the jurisdiction of the CPSC. To that end, the CPSC has no specific labeling requirements for such ordinary soaps.

However, these products are still subject to the general cautionary labeling requirements applicable to hazardous substances under the FHSA.  A product is determined to be a hazardous substance if: (1)  the substance or mixture of substances may cause substantial personal injury or substantial illness during customary or reasonably foreseeable handling or use, including reasonably foreseeable ingestion by children, and (2) the substance or a mixture of substances is toxic, corrosive, an irritant, a strong sensitizer, is flammable or combustible, or generates pressure through decomposition, heat or other means.

Soaps intended for purposes such as moisturizing, adding fragrance to the skin, or deodorizing the user’s body, are “cosmetics” under the jurisdiction of the FDA. Soaps intended to treat or prevent disease (e.g., by killing germs), or that treat skin conditions, such as acne or eczema, are “drugs” under the jurisdiction of the FDA.  Please see the FDA’s: Is it a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both (or is it a Soap?), for more information.

 


Hand Sanitizers 
Liquid, gel, or foam hand sanitizers used to decrease infectious agents on the hands are “drugs” under the jurisdiction of the FDA. Please see issued FDA guidance for additional information.  For further questions on these items, please contact: 1-888-INFO-FDA, or email: COVID-19-Hand-Sanitizers@fda.hhs.gov.  The FDA has issued a warning (and recalls) on hand sanitizers containing methanol and guidance for industry on the temporary preparation of alcohol-based hand sanitizer products during the pandemic

 


Antimicrobial Products/Disinfectants 
These products are regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA).  Under TSCA, the EPA requires reporting, record-keeping, and testing requirements to be met, and places restrictions on certain chemical substances and/or mixtures, including certain disinfectants.  For more information, please see the EPA’s website: https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/selected-epa-registered-disinfectants.  Furthermore, the EPA does have child-resistance requirements for pesticides, including disinfectants. For additional information please visit: https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/child-resistant-packaging-pesticides.

 


Commercial Cleaning Products 
If these products are for commercial use only, or are sold exclusively to commercial entities, they must meet OSHA requirements.  OSHA requires chemical manufacturers and importers to provide specialized labels on their products under the Hazard Communication Standard.  For more information on these OSHA requirements, please contact OSHA directly at: (800) 321-6742, or visit their website: https://www.osha.gov/dsg/hazcom.


Ultraviolet (UV) Disinfecting Devices
UV disinfecting medical devices that use ultraviolet light to disinfect a surface by producing a germicidal effect, and that are intended to augment disinfection of health care environmental surfaces after manual cleaning has been performed, are “medical devices” under the jurisdiction of the FDA.  Please see the issued FDA guidance for additional information.  For questions on these products, please contact the FDA directly at: 1-888-INFO-FDA, or CDRH-COVID19-SterilizersDisinfectantsPurifiers@fda.hhs.gov.

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Visit our Regulatory Robot, designed to guide you through CPSC’s product safety requirements.
  • Contact our Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquiries): e-mail: section15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (800) 638-2772.
  • Ask our Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): Please use our Contact Form; email us at: sbo@cpsc.gov, or contact us by telephone at: (888) 531-9070.
Category: 
Business Guidance