Product Safety State Contacts

Listed below is contact information for product safety liaisons from CPSC, states, and U.S. territories. These state contacts work with CPSC to promote product safety programs around the U.S.

View U.S. Map

Alabama

Richard Burleson
Injury Prevention Director, Injury Prevention Branch/Health Promotion & Chronic Disease
Alabama Dept. of Public Health
201 Monroe St. Rm. 980A
Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone: (334) 206-2938
Fax: (334) 206-2059
E-mail: richard.burleson@adph.state.al.us

Alaska

Maria Bailey
Alaska Health and Social Services
P.O. Box 110614
Juneau, Alaska 99811
Phone: (907) 465-4170
Fax: (907) 465-2898
E-mail: Maria.bailey@alaska.gov

Arizona

Diane Eckles, Chief
Office of Environmental Health
Arizona Department of Health Services
150 N 18th Ave Ste 430
Phoenix AZ 85007
Phone: 602-364-3142
Fax: 602-364-3146
E-mail: ecklesd@azdhs.gov

Arkansas

Bettye Watts, Program Support Manager
Injury Prevention Branch
Division of State Health
4815 W. Markham St.
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867
(501) 280-4776
bwatts@healthyarkansas.com

California

Steve Woods, Chief
Food, Drug & Radiation Safety
Department of Health Services
PO Box 997377 MS-7600
Sacramento, CA 95899-7377
Phone: (916) 440-7883
E-mail: steve.woods@cdph.ca.gov

Colorado

Rick Colonno
Program Coordinator
Colorado Department of Public Health
Environmental-Consumer Protection Division
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80246
Phone: (303) 692-3628
Fax: (303) 753-6809
E-mail: rick.colonno@state.co.us

Connecticut

Richard E. Maloney
Department of Consumer Protection
Director Trade Practices Division
165 Capitol Ave.
Hartford, Ct 06106
Fax: 860-706-1275
Phone: 860-713-6213
Consumer Hotline: 1-800-842-2649
www.ct.gov/dcp
E-mail: Richard.e.maloney@ct.gov

Delaware

Kevin Carroll, Director
Consumer Protection Unit
Delaware Attorney General Office
820 N. French St.
Wilmington, DE  19801
302-577-8943
302-577-6499-fax
Kevin.Carroll@state.de.us

District of Columbia

Cecilia Arce
Community Outreach Specialist
Office of the Director
Dept. of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs
812 Quarrier Street,
1100 4th Street SW 
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: (202) 442-8799
Fax:(202) 442-9445
E-mail: cecilia.arce@dc.gov 
Website: www.dcra.dc.gov

Florida

Richard Strong, Section Chief, Regulatory Investigations
Consumer Services Division
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: (954) 713-3086
E-mail: Richard.Strong@FreshFromFlorida.com

Georgia

Cathy Mendelsohn
Communications & Marketing Specialist
Governor's Office of Consumer Affairs
2 M. L. King, Jr. Dr., Suite 356
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Tel: (404) 656-3504
Fax: (404) 463-8683
E-mail: cathy.mendelsohn@goca.ga.gov

Guam

James W. Gillan, Director
Department of Public Health and Social Services
123 Chalan Kareta
Mangilao, GU 96913-6304
Phone: (671) 735-7102
Fax: (671) 734-5910

Hawaii

Kenneth Silva, Fire Chief
Honolulu Fire Department
636 South Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 723-7101
E-mail: Ltakahara@honolulu.gov

Idaho

Ms. Kim Youmans
Consumer Specialist
Office of the Attorney General
700 W. Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0010
Phone: (208) 334-4138
Fax: (208) 334-2830
kim.youmnas@ag.idaho.gov

Illinois

Jennifer L. Martin
Injury Prevention Coordinator
Injury and Violence Prevention Program
Illinois Department of Public Health
535 West Jefferson Street, 2nd Floor
Springfield, IL 62761
(217) 558-4081
Fax: (217) 524-2831
Jennifer.L.Martin@illinois.gov

Indiana

Natalie Robinson
Education Program Director
Indiana Attorney General
302 W. Washington Street, 5th FL
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 233-6143
Fax (317) 232-7979
natalie.robinson@atg.in.us

Iowa

Debra Cooper
Division of Disease Prevention
State Department of Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Phone: (515) 242-6337
Fax: (515) 281-4958
E-mail: debra.cooper@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas

Lori Haskett
Director
Injury Prevention and Disability Programs
Bureau of Health Promotion
KDHE, 1000 SW Jackson, Ste 230
Topeka, KS 66612-1274
Phone: 785-296-8163
Lhaskett@kdheks.gov

Kentucky

Kathy Fowler
Assistant Director
Environmental Management Branch, Division of Public Health Protection and Safety
Department for Public Health
Cabinet for Health & Family Services
275 East Main Street – HS 1E-B
Frankfort, Kentucky 40621
Phone: (502) 564-7398
E-mail: kathyl.fowler@ky.gov

Louisiana

Gina Payton Lagarde, M.D., MBA
Regional Administrator/Medical Director
OPH Southeast Region IX
Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health
15481 W. Club Deluxe Road
Hammond, LA  70403
Office phone: 985-543-4880
Fax:  982-543-4888
E-mail: Gina.Lagarde@LA.GOV

Maine

Dr. Sheila Pinette
State Health Director
Maine Department of Health
286 Water Street
8th floor
Augusta, ME  04330
(207) 287-5674
Sheila.pinette@maine.gov

Maryland

Clifford S. Mitchell, MS, MD, MPH
Assistant Director for Environmental Health and Food Protection
Infectious Disease and Environmental Health Administration
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 W. Preston Street, Room 327
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-7438
Contact: Linda Rudie: (410) 767-8419
E-mail: lrudie@dhmh.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Deborah Clapp
Program Manager, Emergency Medical Services for Children
Department of Public Health
250 Washington Street - 4th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108-4619
Phone: (617) 624-5088
FAX: (617) 624-5075
deborah.clapp@state.ma.us

Michigan

Laura Rowen
Unintentional Injury Prevention Consultant
Michigan Safe Kids Coordinator
MDCH, Division of Chronic Disease & Injury Control
Injury and Violence Prevention Section
109 Michigan Avenue
Lansing, MI 48913
Ph: (517) 335-9519
Fax: (517) 335-9669
E-mail: RowenL@michigan.gov
Website: www.michigan.gov/injuryprevention

Minnesota

Mr. Mark Kinde, MPH
Minnesota Department of Health
Injury & Violence Prevention Unit Leader
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220
P.O. Box 64882
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0882
Phone: (651) 201-5447
Fax: (651) 201-5800
e-mail: Mark.kinde@health.state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mr. MacArthur Washington
Institutional Services
Department of Health
2423 No. State Street
P. O. Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700
Phone: (601) 576-7689
Fax: (601) 576-7632
E-mail: mwashington@msdh.state.ms.us

Missouri

Dr. Praveena Ambati, MBBS,
CPH Injury and Violence Prevention
Manager Missouri Safe Kids Coordinator
Bureau of Community Health and Wellness
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
920 Wildwood Dr. Jefferson City, MO  65109
573.751.6340
FAX: 573.522.2856
Email:  Praveena.ambati@health.mo.gov

Montana

Vacant

Nebraska

Peg Ogea-Ginsburg
Injury Prevention Program Coordinator
Nebraska Health and Human Services,
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
301 Centennial Mall, South
P.O. Box 95044
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-471-3490
Fax: 402-471-6446
e-mail: Peg.OgeaGinsburg@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Vacant

 

 

New Hampshire

Ms. Rhonda Siegel, Chief
Injury Prevention Program
Bureau of Maternal & Child Health
Department of Health & Human Services
6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301-5627
Phone: (603) 271-4520 / 4700
Fax: (603) 271-3827
E-Mail: rsiegel@dhhs.state.nh.us

New Jersey

Michael DeFrancisci, Assistant Deputy of Enforcement
State of New Jersey - Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs - Office of Consumer Protection
124 Halsey Street
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: (973) 504-6366
Fax: (973) 504-4595
E-mail: DeFrancisciM@dca.lps.state.nj.us

Ron Regan
(973) 792-4210
Ronald.Regen@lps.state.nj.us

New Mexico

Mr. John McPhee
Childhood Injury Prevention Coordinator
Office of Injury Prevention-ERD-DOH
New Mexico Department of Health
1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite 1100
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505
Phone: (505) 827-2582
Fax: (505) 827-0013
E-mail: John.McPhee@state.nm.us

New York

Aiesha L. Battle, Esq.
Director, Division of Consumer Protection
New York Department of State
99 Washington Avenue, Suite 650
Albany, New York 12231
Phone: 518-486-3933 - direct
Fax: 518-473-9055
E-mail: Aiesha.Battle@dos.ny.gov

North Carolina

Kelly Ransdell
Deputy Director, Prevention, Programs and Grants
NC Department of Insurance – Office of State Fire Marshal
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699 – 1202
919-661-5880 ext 319
kelly.ransdell@ncdoi.gov

North Dakota

Dawn Mayer
North Dakota Dept. of Health
Injury Prevention Program
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 301
Bismarck., ND 58505-0200
Phone: (701) 328-4533
Fax: (701) 328-412
e-mail: drmayer@nd.gov

Ohio

Randall Dana 
Investigator, Consumer Protection Section
Ohio Attorney General
30 E. Broad St., 14th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone:  (614) 728-8831
Fax: (866) 728-8831
E-mail: randall.dana@ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Edward J. Early
Chief Investigator, Consumer Protection
Phone: ( 614) 466-8546
Fax: (866) 347-2540
E-mail: Edward.early@ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Oklahoma

Travis Brown
Public Health Specialist
Oklahoma State Dept. of Health
1000 NE 10th
Oklahoma City, OK 73117
Phone: (405) 271-9444 x57321
Email: travisb@health.ok.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

end

Oregon

Geoff Darling
Chief Investigator
Oregon Department of Justice
1162 Court Street, N.E.
Salem, Oregon 97301
Phone: (503) 947-4333
Fax: (503) 378-5017
e-mail: geoff.darling@doj.state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Basil L. Merenda
Chief Deputy Attorney General
Director, Bureau of Consumer Protection Office of the State Fire Commissioner
Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General
15th Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: (717) 787-2038 
Fax: (717) 772-3560
E-mail: bmerenda@attorneygeneral.gov

Puerto Rico

Javier Olmo, Supervisor
Departamento de Asuntos al Consumidor (DACO)
P.O. Box 41059
Dept. de Asuntos del Consumidor
Complejo Gubernamental Roberto Sanchez Vilella
4to Piso, Torre Norte
Ave. José De Diego, Santurce
San Juan, PR 00940
(787) 722-7555 x 4039
E-Mail: jolmo@daco.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island

Ann Novais, MA
Executive Director Health
Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Room 408
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 222-5117
Fax: (401) 222-4415
E-mail: ana.novais@health.ri.gov

South Carolina

Carri Grube Lybarker
Administrator/Consumer Advocate
South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine St., Suite 200
Columbia, South Carolina 29205
clybarker@scconsumer.gov 
Phone: (803) 734-4200
FAX:  (803) 734-4287
 
Alicia Clark
aclark@scconsumer.gov 

South Dakota

Ms Kayla Tinker
Department of Health
Department of Family Health
600 E. Capital Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-2536
Phone: (605) 773-3361
Fax: (605) 773-5683
e-mail: kayla.tinker@state.sd.us

Tennessee

E. Ross White
Assistant Director,
Division of Consumer Affairs
Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway, 5th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0600
Phone: (800)342-8385
Fax: (615) 532-4994
E-mail: Ross.white@tn.gov

Texas

Vacant, R.S. M.P.H., Manager
Public Health Sanitation & Consumer Product Safety Group
Environmental Health Service – Division of Regulatory Services
Texas Department of Health
8407 Wall Street
1100 W. 49th Street - Mailing address
Austin, Texas 78756
Phone: (512) 834-6770 Ext: 2303
Fax: (512) 834-6707
E-mail:

Utah

Traci Gundersen, Director
Division of Consumer Protection
State of Utah, Dept. of Commerce
160 E 300 S, 2nd Floor
P. O. Box 146704
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704
Telephone: (801) 530-6601
Fax: (801) 530-6001
E-mail: tgundersen@utah.gov

Vermont

Sally Kerschner, RN, MSN
Injury Prevention Coordinator
Vermont Department of Health
Division of MCH
108 Cherry St
Burlington, VT 05401
802-652-4179
E-mail: Sally.kerschner@state.vt.us

Virgin Islands

Wayne Biggs, Jr., Commissioner
Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs (DLCA)
Golden Rock Shopping Center
Christiansted, St. Croix, Virgin Islands 00820
Phone: (340) 773-2226
Mobile: (340) 690-8383
FAX: (340) 778-8250
E-mail: wayne.biggs@dlca.gov.vi

Virginia

Heather Funkhouser Board, MPH
Injury Prevention Program Supervisor
Division of Prevention and Health Promotion
Virginia Department of Health
109 Governor St, 8th Floor
Richmond, VA  23219
ph (804)864-7738
fx (804)864-7748
Heather.Board@vdh.virginia.gov 

Washington

Julie Alonso
Director, Safe Kids Washington
Child Injury Prevention Specialist
Washington State Department of Health
111 Israel Rd SE
Olympia, WA 98501 
Phone: (360) 236-2863
E-mail: Julie.Alonso@doh.wa.gov

West Virginia

Gordon A. Ingold, Investigator
WV Office of Attorney General
Consumer Protection & Antitrust Division
812 Quarrier Street,
L & S Building, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 1789
Charleston, West Virginia 25326-1789
Phone: (304) 558-8986
Fax: (304) 558-0184

Wisconsin

Michelle Reinen
Director, Bureau of Consumer Protection
WI Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53718-8911
Phone: 608-224-5160
Fax: 608-224-4939
E-mail: michelle.reinen@wi.gov

Wyoming

Vacant